Promises

Winter, 2000.

I went into a Napster binge of sorts. My parents had their heads in real estate. We spent numerous hours driving throughout Northern California searching for a new collection of wood, carpet, and sheetrock that we would eventually call home. During these long rainy day drives, seeing several different iterations of my potential new room, I would have my collection of mix CD’s that featured my latest Napster acquisitions. The CD’s were sprinkled with major record released tracks and bootlegs of unreleased tracks from my favorite bands. Amongst them, Radiohead’s “I Promise” was a joyfully somber that now stands as a header for that moment in my life.

Late Spring, 2017.

The studio version of “I Promise” was released today as a 20th anniversary celebration of OK Computer. The track had the intent of being on the album, but never made it. Nevertheless, after 20 years the track was finally released on its own. I just heard it a handful of times in a row. I feel nostalgic, sure. Yet, if you excuse what may potentially be tacky, it made me think of promises that art work can make to its consumers. I’m not crazy. Art can make promises too. There’s a song about it. It’s called “I Promise”. You should listen to it sometime.

An artist (or band if you want) may knowingly/unknowingly make promises to their fan base. First, through the nostalgic quality of a song. No matter what, “Bohemian Rhapsody” will always remind someone of Wayne’s World. That’s a promise. Secondly, through the promise an artist holds. Fans will wait like salivating dogs during feeding time in anticipation for the next gig or record from an artist they enjoy. Prime example: the 22 year wait for My Bloody Valentine’s Loveless follow up, m.b.v. Tough an artist may never say “I promise”, fans will find a way to hear those words within their work (in the case of Radiohead, that’s not necessary).

After a 13 month hiatus from this blog, I’m back. Perhaps it’s a promise that I never directly said. What has changed since? The band now has a drummer, Paul Sakai. We also slightly changed our name to Pinbokeh. We have played some shows since forming as a trio last fall.

Pinbokeh will continue to play more shows and have more releases. In addition, as with what my intent has been with this blog, I will be posting musings about the creative process, progress on the band, and such related thoughts. I promise.

Leave a Reply

